What are the possible effects of living long on an individual and on the whole society? Give some examples for and against according to your knowledge.

Advancement in medical technology, better knowledge about medical science, and the invention of the cure for deadly diseases have greatly contributed to increased life expectancy these days. Both the individual and the society have been affected by this achievement. This essay delves into the positive and negative aspects of 'longer living' on individual and the society with relevant examples. Undeniably, death is a terrific affair to all the human and each and every individual denies to accept this inevitable event. Therefore as an individual, increased life expectancy is a benefit that they can live longer and enjoy their time on Earth. In addition, long living is a positive trend towards the development of a country. For instance, increased life expectancy contributes more to more workforces to a country and in turn, raises the productivity of the nation. Professionals like doctors, researchers, writers, political leaders and much more can contribute to the country even more in their old ages with their immense experience in life. In contrast, increased human lifespan has some drawbacks also. Firstly, it will worsen the unemployment rate in an overpopulated country like India. Moreover, increased life expectancy might proportionally increase the dependents’ rate. For instance, it will cause an elevated number of retired people and in turn, it will be a burden to the family and society, no matter how cruel it might sound. Furthermore, society needs more funds for the medical and recreational facilities for the older generation. Finally, life in old ages is fragile and diseases attack easily and make an individual’s life miserable. For some people, a short and healthy life is more desirable than a long and suffering life. Hence increased life expectancy has some adverse effects on both the individual and the society. Putting everything into consideration, the longer life is a positive development for the individual and the nation in terms of our desire to live long with others and to contribute to the country, whereas it will cause unemployment, dependency and sufferings also.