Wealthy countries should accept more refugees and provide them with basic assistance, such as food and housing.

It is sometimes argued that rich nations should welcome more asylum seekers and give them food and shelter. This essay totally agrees with that statement because it is a moral obligation that the rich countries can easily afford. The first reason why developed countries should open its doors for refugees is that it is not morally acceptable not to do so. In other words, all men are equal and they should always stand by one another. Innocent people that are running away from war zones should not be left alone to face death and misery as they do not have anywhere to go. For example, Germany had accepted more than five million Syrian refugees since the beginning of the Syrian crisis and the majority of them where women and children. The second main reason is that wealthy nations can handle the costs of supporting people fleeing from their own countries. That is to say, humanitarian aid and accommodation facilities will not cause any financial strain on the government' s budget. In fact the economy of the recipient countries might benefit from the extra labor force that refugees provide. For instance, a recent study published by The Guardian showed that only 0. 5% of the German national income was spent on Syrian asylum seekers. The same study illustrated that 60% of Syrian refugees are currently working in factories and other industrial institutions. In conclusion, rich nations should not prevent refugees from seeking basic assistance on their territory. Because it is a humanitarian obligation and it is not harmful to the economy.