Wealthy countries should accept more refugees and provide them with basic assistance, such as food and housing.

It is argued that rich nations should allow higher numbers of refugees and provide them with adequate humanitarian aid. This essay agrees with this statement because richer nations have ample resources and infrastructure to support this cause. To begin with, wealthy nations have abundant food supply to support their citizens. However, this excessive supply has also led to massive amounts of food wastage. Instead of wasting these resources, governments of wealthy countries could allocate some of these supplies to people in dire need of help. For example, during the holy month of Ramadan, some rich Arab nations prepare huge banquets for their citizens where 30% of the food is wasted in decorations and later thrown away. Another important point to consider is that rich countries have well developed housing and infrastructure facilities. In other words, these nations are more than capable of handling an inflow of immigrants without reducing their quality of life. Allocating a small section of land to these helpless beings would be a sensible and humane gesture. For example, only a third of land in Australia is populated, with the vast majority of its mainland uninhabited. This means that it has enough land to accommodate additional immigrants without disrupting its economy. In conclusion, it is evident that countries with a strong economy can accept more refugees, and are more than capable of providing them with food and shelter. Regardless, it is a moral responsibility of every human being to support each other in times of need.