Wealth does not necessarily guarantee happiness. Provide reasons for your answer. Include relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Our emotions make us humans, we experience a sense of joy and exhilaration when we achieve our goals. While there are newer ways to rapidly grow our personal wealth thanks to the introduction of technology and digital communications, is it possible to replace a family dinner or watching the first steps of your child? In this essay, I will explain why I disagree that being wealthy guarantees happiness. A couple of reasons why wealth is not only a burden but also quite costly. First of all, it becomes a burden when wealth has been a product of stress and tears of pain. All the effort put into one goal solely to make money, can easily turn into a big sense of loss. Secondly, the anxiety that comes from having large amounts of money, just translates to having to spend more for it to be safe, thus increasing the amount of responsibilities and potential problems in life. For instance, the need to pay for personal security, video vigilance infrastructure and other security features will quickly sum up to a hefty annuity. Humans have evolved mainly when confronted with scarcity and danger. The more we don’t change, the more inclined we are to become lazy, which is why humans need motivation. In my opinion, this is the main reason why we cannot equal happiness with wealth, because our minds cannot change the way they work, only because we have more or less money. Provided that we are a social species, having everything and not being able to share it with anyone is a great example of unhappiness. In conclusion, wealth can make all sorts of superficial and materialistic wishes come true, but that does not mean we can guarantee happiness with them. It is a matter of personal growth and tenacity that build up towards a winning attitude, consequently boosting our happiness in a sustainable, long and joyful life.