We live in a world of technology these days. While the internet brings with it clear advantages, the problems in terms of control and security of information outweighs the advantages.

Technology and internet have become intrinsic to our lives nowadays and even though it has been beneficial in many ways, however, the serious problems it poses with the handling and securing, makes the advantages seem less significant. In my opinion, I completely agree that the issues dealing with data and its control are serious issues. The number of internet users has increased exponentially over the years and so has the ease with which their information can be compromised. People can easily fall prey to online hacking, in other words, personal and business computers can be hacked into and private and confidential data can be stolen and used for ransom, which can result in unpleasant situations ranging from intimate pictures or details being posted online or critical business data leaked. Needless to say this can have a disastrous impact on the individuals or the companies involved, resulting in psychological and emotional harassment as well as loss of revenue and competitiveness. Another point to note is that the mushrooming of social media platforms has created another avenue for threat to data. In particular, teenagers and young adults are more likely to be targeted on these sites as it is very easy to hide one’s identity online, and they can be exposed to online predators and might end up giving out details which can be damaging and result in sexual harassment and abuse. Moreover, social media companies routinely sell private details and user data to third party providers for money, often without explicit consent from the users, which further opens up the door for personal information being compromised as this often results in an increase in phishing mails and the possibility of inadvertently giving control of your computer systems to hackers who can use it for ulterior motives. In conclusion, despite the benefits that technology brings to our lives, lack of adequate measures for the control and security of information and data makes it more detrimental to its users.