Some people think that in the modern world we are more dependent on each other, while others think that people have become more independent.

The world is considered to change a lot day by day. People around the world become more educated than previous days and they are learning how to live on their own to avoid dependency on others. Firstly, while considering the older generation, they were not educated people on an average, mostly they did not know how to read and write. They needed to take help from others to write letters, legal documents and read letters, newspapers, documents etc. Secondly, older people believed that children should take care of them while they become old. And children also took responsibility to look after old people. So parents were more dependent on children. Thirdly, parents used to pampered children in older generation, for example, mother took care of homes as father worked outside to bring up family financially, so children were more dependent until they graduated from university, even children did not think about doing a part-time job to earn money, since the father took care of financial matters. On the other hand looking into the modern world or generation, almost all of the people are educated and they do not depend on others to write or read. Older people in the modern world are not dependent on their children. They are planning what to do after their retirement to avoid dependency on their children. However, they are considering going to a nursing home if they are not well. Parents in the modern world are teaching the children from childhood onwards how to take care of themselves since both parents working as full-timers so that children can learn how to live on their won. Most of the children from 15 years onwards are doing part-time jobs to earn and support their expenses. To sum up, in my point of view, in modern world people are not at all dependent on each other; everybody knows how to live on their own.