We are living in a throwaway society. What are the reasons for the creation of ‘throwaway societies’ and what future impacts can it have?

Waste disposal problems are increasing at an alarming rate today. Even though people are more educated than before, they act like ignorant in many circumstances in term of throwaway culture. This essay examines the several reasons behind the creation of these throwaway societies and the results of this in the future. On the one hand, there are some facts which lead to the formation of choked societies with waste products. Firstly, the attitude and cultural practice of the public; that is, they throw away unwanted things wherever they want to pretend that it is their right and something they got from their ancestors. Hence, they do not have the feeling of ‘ourselves’ about the surroundings. Secondly, scarcity of places for proper waste disposal: since population explosion exists and people accommodates in flats in cities where there are not enough places or surroundings compared to village areas and they discard things here and there. In addition, lack of proper waste segregation system by the authorities is the important reason for this menace. Moreover, the absence of strict legislation increases its severity. On the other hand, these danger practices lead to severe impacts on several aspects of the community. First and foremost problem caused by this act is environmental pollution. With these waste products like food waste, plastics, metals, chemicals etc, environment get choked and polluted and ends up in water pollution, air pollution etc. and as a result, it has a pernicious influence on the health of human as well as other creations on the earth. For instance, these pollutants cause lung problems, respiratory problems, cancers etc. Another fact is that it leads to communicable diseases. That is, these accumulated wastages are the best breeding places for bacteria, viruses and pathogens and spread various diseases. Finally, this throwaway culture discards the beauty of our nature and also affects the ecosystem of the environment. In conclusion, change in the attitude of people is the panacea for this menace. It is not an instantly aroused issue so that it cannot be solved immediately. Government and people should work hand in hand to wipe off this ban from our society.