Tourism has negative environmental impacts on tourist areas. What are the impacts? How can damaging impacts be lessened

Sustainability has recently become a burning issue for different demographics of society. Proceeding from this, leisure travellers do influence their destinations adversely in terms of environment. This essay will discuss the main problems associated with adverse ecological consequences of tourism and propose some viable solutions to mitigate them. Visitors from other countries pose an environmental threat to a hosting nation by contaminating the nature and overusing fresh water. Firstly, people tend to litter at the areas of their stay while on holidays. These reckless actions cause the detrimental effects on the natural habitat, which is home for flora and fauna. Moreover, pollution from the waste is considered to echo in the long run by exacerbating the air quality for all living creatures. Secondly, being provided with unlimited use of water in a hotel room, travellers abuse it which in its turn deplete this resource. Even though, fresh water seems to be in abundance, its uncontrolled consumption will entail catastrophic issues related to survival of species. The above-mentioned problems are impossible to solve without raising the public awareness and governmental interference. Both the waste disposal and unrestricted water intake would be minimised if all members of the society knew about the severe results to the nature, environment and human beings. Furthermore, the authorities are obliged to implement laws that not only bar the free use of water in hotels, but also impose heavy fines to those who leave rubbish unless in a specially designated area. These measures are believed to curb the negative impacts from the tourism worldwide. To conclude, the backpackers influence the environment by their careless attitude and soft governmental stance on the issue. Therefore, pollution and water overuse have to be tackled both by the citizens and the authorities. The cooperation of the above-mentioned will solve the problem for the wellbeing of the future generations