Visa regulations should be relaxed for overseas students.

The popularity of studying abroad is growing nowadays, and the required paperwork, such as visa applying is being commonly discussed to be simplified or even canceled. I completely disagree with this opinion and consider that the procedure of obtaining a visa should not be facilitated. First of all, the main reason visa regulations should remain as they are or even become stricter is the safety issue. Although the main students’ purpose of studying abroad is to get an education, sometimes they can get into trouble. For instance, some students that don't have enough money to pay tuition or something else may start to work illegally. I suppose visa regulations should help the government to prevent such situations due to frequent visa requirements to have a certain amount of money on the students’ bank account to cover the education fees and activities for leisure time. Secondly, there is an economic aspect. It is inevitable that relaxed visa legislation in a certain country would ensure an inflow of students want to get an education there while the supply of universities remains at the same quantity. It would cause difficulties or even the impossibility of entering the university for citizens of this country. For example, some university in a small town has a limited quantity of available places and, if the visa issues are simplified by government’s policy, many overseas students would apply for studying and there would be no places for the locals. Visa regulations can help in balancing the scales of students’ demand and universities’ supply of education. To conclude, I strongly believe that visa requirements provide safety for both sides, the country, and the students themselves, so they shouldn’t be facilitated.