Using the information in the diagram, write a description of how a refrigerator works. You may use your own knowledge and experience in addition to the diagram.

It is generally believed that efforts should be directed towards preventing a particular disease in the first place, rather than spending time, energy and money towards providing curative treatment. Although I strongly agree with this philosophy, research towards finding out cures is also important as some medical conditions may not be easily prevented. There is no doubt that some disorders related to one’s lifestyle can be easily prevented. For example, stress related diseases like diabetes mellitus and certain cardiovascular diseases are generally caused by poor work life balance, dietary habits and sedentary lifestyle. In most cases, these medical conditions can be prevented by stress management at work, regular exercise and a balanced and healthy diet. Also, certain tropical infections like malaria and yellow fever caused by insect bites can be can be easily avoided by prophylactic vaccination when travelling. Hence, preventing such diseases can save our healthcare system a lot of financial burden. However, lifestyle diseases have now become increasingly common. In other words, a large number of people are already affected with these conditions. Even though medical research is very expensive, if it saves lives, it is worth the cost. There are also many other medical disorders that are impossible to prevent. These include genetic, congenital and auto-immune disorders. Since there are no known preventative measures for such diseases, efforts directed towards developing treatments for them can save valuable lives. For these reasons, allocating finances towards research is critical. In conclusion, for many diseases that develop as a result of faulty lifestyle, the focus must be on prevention. That said, if saving human lives is our most important goal, investment in research towards developing curative treatment of medical disorders cannot be ignored.