Using a computer every day can have more negative than positive effects on your children.

The applications of computers are increasing rapidly, and so is its usage by children. However, some people think, every day use of computers may actually lead to negative effects rather than positive. I consider, daily usage may negatively affect children under the age of 11, but children above age 10 can benefit from daily usage under supervision. This essay will discuss the effects of its usage, among different age groups among children and its consequences. Exposure to computers for kids under 11 on daily basis may lead to addiction, due to computer games and online media. Moreover, they may insist parents to allow them to use it, while eating or during their free time. For example, a study by Cornwell University, department of psychology on 300 subjects, indicated addiction for 80% of them, and strongly indicated to avoid increased exposure to computers. Due to lack of awareness, some parents encourage their kids to be engaged with modern day electronics, but this will exacerbate the situation. In contrary, children of 11 years or older, may actually benefit from regular exposure to computers in the form of online tutorials and computer programming. Obviously, this needs to happen under supervision of the parents. Online tutorials are gaining popularity as a supplement to the classroom education, this is particularly helpful with slow learning kids, as they can learn at their own pace and convenience. Training the young minds with programming languages will help them to shape their careers in relevant fields. To conclude, the daily usage of modern electronics such as computers can effect negatively for younger children compare to 11 years old older ones. While there are clear advantages to relatively elder kids due to resourceful applications, parent monitoring is a must for leveraging its full potential.