University students nowadays have too much freedom and do not study enough. Explain your opinion, using specific reasons and examples.

Some people insists that students in universities are not spending enough time on their studies and having too much leisure time. It seems that they are wasting their time, but they are truly struggling to get a job or to success in the cut-throat world. This essay totally disagree with the opinion that university students are not studying and will discuss why this situation is happening. It is undeniable that people in universities are putting much time to do something else, such as part-time jobs, unpaid internships and club activities, instead of putting their all energy on the studies. One of the major reasons is because companies require lots of experience as well as GPA. In the past the only thing that requirements to get a job was good marks in classes. However, since society have been competitive, applicants are required to do extra activities to fill their resumes to get a decent job. Furthermore, universities also encourage students to do non-academic activities and recreational activities to make them mentally and physically healthy, which end up leading them to get a satisfying job, and they do not allow students to graduate if they do not have any extra experiences. Nowadays, more companies want to employ the one who is mentally stable and can successfully communicate with colleagues, which means they no longer only require high scores(A and A+). Hence, students have had to do volunteering and work out to make their portfolio. For instance, Seoul National University have let students submit their portfolio to graduate. To sum up, even if it seems that they are not studying enough compared to past students, it is because current students are required to do extra activities by companies and schools. They are actually doing both studying and non-academic things.