University students always focus on one specialist subject, but some people think universities should encourage their students to study a range of subjects in addition to their own subject.

Most higher education scholars focus on one subject, however, there are some, who believe universities should motivate them into studying a greater range of subjects. I partially agree with this, because it can bring many benefits for those who are studying in a university, but this idea must be correctly implanted, so it will not bring negative impacts. This idea can generate great advantages if the students are able to fully control these extra classes, which ones they will do, if they do any at all. One advantage is discovering other disciplines they might enjoy, because not all students know for sure which career path they want to pursue, and these subjects may help them to find out. Another benefit is that they can enjoy studying more by adding discipline they enjoy to study, and as a bonus they get to learn more. Nevertheless, if not carefully managed, there are a few drawbacks that can come to be. The first one is not giving a good variety of subjects, which, can lead into frustration for the scholars, because they will not be able to pick and study the disciplines they wish for. A second issue is if the universities make those extra disciplines mandatory, since, many students probably work to pay their fees, this would result in them feeling overworked. To conclude, If this system is correctly implanted and administrate by the institutions, it can certainly achieve positive results. Results as self discovery, more enjoyment and more knowledge for the scholars. But, if poorly executed, this system may bring negative impacts for students. At the end of the day, the most important thing, is to guarantee the best higher education possible.