University education should be free to everyone, regardless of income.

Over recent years, more and more people have been attending universities for higher education. Certain people believe that students are privileged to attain free education, regardless of their financial status, While others disagree with this notion. Since there are convincing arguments on both sides, I partially agree with this statement. On the one hand, educated citizens are an asset to the country. When universities provide free education, people of all financial conditions can acquire knowledge without any discrimination. Otherwise, only rich and middle-class students will attend the classes and lower-class students are dissuaded to go to universities. When everyone in the country is educated, the workforce will be smart enough and produce good quality products. Moreover, these people will contribute to the development of the economy by paying an adequate amount of taxes. Thus, the government will have enough money to spend on furthers areas for the sake of people. On the other hand, the cost of learning is soaring in this world. Due to inflation in the global market, the cost of research equipment and other inevitable items are rising. The university grants are limited and if universities provide free teaching to all, they may be forced to compensate in other areas and it will reflect in the quality standard of education. Additionally, when all people are educated and heading for white-collar jobs, there will not be enough people for blue-collar jobs. For instance, carpentry, masonry, and plumbing need skilled workers. To sum up, everyone in society gets an equal opportunity to gain knowledge when universities provide free education. But university may be forced to compensate the quality of training. Thus, there are advantages and disadvantages of free education.