Universities should be concerned with educating people so that they have wide general knowledge and be able to consuder important matters from an informed view point and not simply prepare students for jobs required by society.

The argument whether university should be concerned about educating people to have wide general knowledge or not is widely debate, with many people claiming that university should not be concerned about educating people. Although, people make good decision, work effectively and independently as a result of knowledge. Ultimately, I think is better for university to be concerned about educating people with wide general knowledge. However, these notion merit serious consideration and I will explain why in this essay with pertinent argument and examples. There are myriad of argument in favor of my stance. The most conspicuous one is that people with wide general knowledge are able to quickly secure employment compare to those in a specific area of study. Moreover, another pivotal aspect of my argument is that having a wide general knowledge make job easier and more profitable unlike specializing in a specific field. For instance, underpinning the aforementioned, an empirical is that effective decision about the growth on an industry can be easily made without the presence of the general manager. In view of the argument outlined above, one can conclude that the benefit of university educating people with wide general knowledge should not be ignore. Nevertheless, the drawbacks of not educating people with wide general knowledge should not be overlooked either.