Universities should accept equal numbers of male and female students in every subject.

As far as I am concerned, men and women should have the same educational opportunities. However, I strongly disagree with the idea of accepting equal proportions of each gender in every university field. This essay will outline reasons for the argument. Having the same amount of students from both genders in all degree courses is basically unrealistic. Student numbers in any program depend on the applications that an institution receives. If a university decides to fill classes following the pattern of equal quantity of males and females, it would need enough applicants of each. In reality, different departments are more popular for one gender than the other, and it would not be possible to fulfil the idea of same proportions. For example, nursing lessons tend to attract more female applicants, and it would be complicated to supply these programs if half of the places need to go to men. Apart from the practical matter discussed above, I also believe that it would be unfair to establish admission to a university subject based on gender. Learning institution should continue to select the best candidates according to their grades and qualification. In this way, all pupils have identical chances. For instance, if a woman student is the best candidate for a place in a course, it is surely wrong to reject her in favour of a man with lower grades. In conclusion, the selection of candidates for university should be based on merit, and it would be impractical and unfair to change to a selection procedure based on gender.