TPO8-Q2: Some people enjoy taking risks and trying new things. Others are not adventurous; they are cautious and prefer to avoid danger. Which behavior do you think is better? Explain why.

It is sometimes argued that news channels should concentrate on reporting more good news than bad news. While it may be beneficial to publish good news, it is also essential for individuals to be aware of the unfortunate happenings around them. Both sides will be analysed in this essay. On the one hand, the media should focus on publishing good stories because doing so may boost the morale of the public. When people are aware of positive happenings around them, especially if those events are linked to them, they are better able to maintain a good mental state. For example, King David, who was the first leukemia survivor in Nigeria, reported how his hope of surviving was kept alive after he read about a newly discovered chemotherapy regimen in Vanguard newspaper. As this example shows, the media have an indispensable role to play in maintaining a mentally stable community by publishing motivating news. Although tragic news such as civil wars, natural disasters and terrorist attacks are disheartening, it would be misguided to introduce restrictions on reporting them. This is because the awareness of these events can motivate the public to solve these global problems. For instance, in Nigeria, since the media started reporting bad news regarding the effects of global warming in different parts of the world, Nigerians have become more proactive about their individual efforts in reducing global warming, such as using public transport and reducing air trips per year. This will have been impossible if people are unaware of contemporary issues. Hence, bad news needs to be reported to facilitate harnessing concerted efforts to solve problems. In conclusion, while awareness of cheerful news is good for one’s mental health, it should not be published at the expense of tragic reports. It is hoped that media agencies learn to regard both equally.