TPO52 - The rules that societies today expect young people to follow and obey are too strict. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It goes without saying that in this complicated and progressive world in which we are living, rules and laws play significant roles in organizing prosperous and successful societies. Conforming the regulations and following social values are vital tasks of every individual to make a better community and avoid chaos. In this regard, the young generation is not an exception so that they should obey the rules; however, some believe that today, societies anticipate youngsters following the rules too toughly. Personally speaking, I partly agree with this notion, and I will substantiate my idea with reasons and facts that are elaborated upon hereunder. The competency and the ability of people should be appraised for taking part in social activities and acquiring legal privileges, not their age. Age restriction is obvious discrimination against young people in many social affairs. For instance, while there were some reasons -such as reducing road accidents and fatalities in car crashes- to pass a law to prohibit young people from driving until the age of eighteen, the advent of new technologies has solved the safety-related issues by producing safer vehicles and better infrastructures like roads. It is crystal clear that driving a car or riding a motorcycle requires learning many skills and having a driver license in order to guarantee less probable damages. However, there is a rigorous law which prohibits young people from having the right to obtain a driving license until the legitimate age. While the advancement of new technologies leads to safer cars and more convenient roads to drive in, the persistence of the policy-makers and the societies on maintaining on this strict rules which limit young people seems irrational and very severe. A personal example can drive this notion home. Six years ago, I started driving my father’s car when I was sixteen with such extreme skill that everybody praised me. Although I had much more abilities in driving compared with my mother, who was already a legal driver, I had no right to get my driving license, and that was utterly unfair and strict. On the other side, young people are not mature enough to make decisions logically; therefore, they often tend to make emotional decisions with a higher degree of risks. As people grow older, they become more prudent and avoid unnecessary risks and threats. In contrast, younger people extremely tend to do more adventurous actions and also, standing against social laws and mandatory regulations gives them a sense of independent and self-confident. Thus, committing social crimes is prevalent through the young generation than the elderly. Dealing drug, driving while drunk, and street fighting are some instances of youngsters’ crimes that can be highly controlled by passing strict laws and obligations. A recent study at Toronto University showed a close correlation between youth crimes and strict laws. They had investigated one hundred boys and girls in two different quarters in the city to find whether the strict applying laws is effective in the reduction of juvenile crime or not. In one site, a police stand was installed to make young people aware that everything is under control, and the other site was free of and external controlling power. After a month, a remarkable drop in the numbers of criminal acts among young people was reported in the first area, which means that applying severe laws helps to reduce crimes.