TPO24 – Q2: A/D? Students benefit more from classes with a larger number of students than they do from smaller classes.

Have you ever questioned yourself, “What if all advertisements disappear? ” Advertising is well-known as a method of promotion that will disseminate a message or introduction of newly launched products. Living in the information age, people are bombarded with a myriad of advertising in multiple media. However, since advertising is gaining more popularity, the contributions of it are in the center of controversy. There is no doubt that along with the development of businesses, the surge in the quantity of commercial advertising is inevitable. On the positive side, advertising plays a significant role in boosting up the sale of companies by creating opportunities for numerous brands to approach prospective customers. Consumers will be provided with adequate and accurate information about the products through the ads, which enable them to have a comparison between those products and make the optimal decisions. Moreover, it is also agreed that advertising impulses the development of many other industries, for example, the entertainment industry such as music, sport or movie. On the other hand, the public also concern about the impact of some advertisements targeted children and adolescents such as soft drinks or fast food. For instance, it can be seen that sugary beverage consumption has grown by a leap and bound over the past decade, responsible for the increase of modern health problems such as diabetes and obesity. And the major reasons for this trend are the exaggeration of advertisements, followed by the children’s unjustified desire to buy something unnecessary. Besides, such irrelevant promotions can be annoying or misleading, particularly when the audiences are being interrupted while they are playing games or watching the program. To sum up, although the advertising, with its overwhelming power, can lead to consumer’s impulsive purchase, I am convinced that the advantages of it in business should not be underrated.