Some say that by showing sporting events such as Olympic and world cup in television will encourage old people to do exercise.

Physical exercise is vital in keeping our body healthy. However, over the past years it was observed that adults are not doing enough exercise. While some say that the best way to inspire them to exercise is by showing spectacular sporting events like the Olympic and world cup on television, I believe that there are better ways to encourage them such as improving exercise facilities and support from family members. There are people who believe that showing spectacular sporting events in the television, such as the Olympics and world cup will encourage older people to exercise. The basis of their argument lies in the fact that adults have the inherent tendency to follow their role models or idols. Sports celebrities such as boxers, tennis players, basketball stars have a great influence on their fans, and by showing them sports events on TV they follow the ways of sports stars. As a result, adults will engage in physical activities such as exercise. For example, in the Philippines, every time Manny Pacquiao has a boxing match, a month after his fight the attendance in boxing gym increases by 30 percent. However, showing sports events on television does not guarantee a perpetual engagement in exercise among adults. I believe that by improving exercise facilities like gyms and sports centre and family support could encourage them. When such facilities are in good condition they will be eager to try and they will not be afraid of accident that may cause by poor condition of exercise equipment. Furthermore, family members have huge influence among adults. By being with them during their exercise, they will be driven by the moral support and thus they will continue and even increase their activity. For instance, my father increased his jogging activity from once a week to twice a week since I joined him in his morning jogging routine. In conclusion, although showing spectacular sport events on television could inspire older people to exercise, I believe that by improving the exercise facilities and sports centre together with the family support, adults will engage more in exercise.