An increasing number of larger shopping areas, malls and department stores are leading to the decline of smaller corner shops. What are the advantages and disadvantages of shopping in larger shopping center rather than smaller, more traditional shops?

In this contemporary era, now big shopping malls and departmental stores are being established at an exponential rate and it has an adverse effect on local shops. It has both merits and demerits and I will elucidate it in the subsequent fragments. The predominant advantage of having such mammoth mall is that individuals can purchase almost all types of clothes varying from brand to brand under one roof. It will give them a plethora of choices to choose attire and footwears which makes them feel comfortable according to their own budget. What is more, these malls don't only have different clothe outlets, but individuals can also watch movies in cinemas and they can eat both traditional and foreign cuisines under one roof which is not available in local shops. Lastly, these malls has a proper ventilating system and customers does not feel any kind of suffocation and as a result they purchase more items. For instance, the air conditioners in malls and background music acts as a catalyst for customers to purchase more commodities for themselves. However, there are certain demerits of such shopping malls. Firstly, the branded clothes have exorbitant prices and it is very difficult to manage financial expenses for middle class and destitute families, while local shops have reasonable rates and all walk of people can purchase such items easily. Secondly, these malls are dwindling the traditional clothes as people specially youngsters always prefer to wear western clothes, eventually, these shopping complexes are depriving adolescents from wearing ethnic attires. To recapitulate, although there are certain demerits of shopping complexes, but the pros outweigh them. Also, a sagacious approach should be adopted by people towards purchasing from both multiplexes as well as from local shops for holistic and resplendent walk of life