TPO22 – Independent: A/D? Teachers should not make their political or social views known to students in classroom.

Teachers are the most effective people in every individual' s life because they can convey their information and beliefs to the students. Hence, I believe that teachers should not express their social and political views to students in the classroom because students are prone to imitate anything that they see or hear. In addition, they need to learn diverse aspects of an issue and to interpret the situations by themselves. In the following paragraphs, I will elaborate on my viewpoint. Students are extremely affected by their teachers because they think that the teachers are always right. That is to say, any information which is presented by the teachers are accepted and absorbed by vulnerable students so it plays a decisive role in every pupil' s viewpoint. For example, I always pay attention to what I explain to my students, especially that my major is economics and I have to mention so many political and social issues in the class to make an economic problem clear. That is why my students learned the economic facts but not my standpoint. Everyone needs to be able to interpret any situation in a society and advocate the proper side if necessary. In fact, the teaching method in schools have a great impact on a students' perspective of the surrounding matters. For example, electing an efficient president for the country, who can improve the country' s situation, requires a good understanding and interpretation of political parties which can be obtained through search and study. Nevertheless, the information that a teacher conveys to students instead of teaching ways of assessing different aspects of every political issue may be retained by the pupils and build a specific viewpoint toward issues. Hence, the teacher' s point of view may make the students take a wrong decision about the election. Decisively, if one assesses his own point of view toward particular notions, one soon realizes that his teacher influenced it very much. In fact, the teachers should consider their provided knowledge for the students in the class because the student' s characteristic is formable and they trust the teachers' explanations. In addition, all aspects of an issue should be taught to students to be able to distinguish between the right and wrong side of an issue.