TPO 22 – task 2: Teachers should not make their social or political views known to students in the classroom.

It is argued by some people that all their earnings should be used for their personal needs and not taxed by the government. I disagree with this notion because taxation ensure equality in many societies and it is a means by which the government provide essential services and infrastructures. One major reason benefit of taxation is that it promote equality. In other words, the tax pay by people in many countries is proportional to their earnings. Thus, high income earners pay more taxes to the authority while with only few exceptions, low income earners and senior citizens pay lesser taxes. For instance, there are high tax on luxury goods commonly use by the affluent in many countries, whereas, individuals who do not have a regular income are excepted from certain taxes. This has resulted in a more even society. Furthermore, taxes are needed for the development of infrastructure and the provision of essential services. This is due to the fact that most governments pay for these public infrastructures and services from tax incomes. For example, in many countries, the state pay for security, health care and social amenities from the tax it receives. Therefore, if the government does not receive tax revenue, it would neither be able to pay for important services nor develop public infrastructure. In conclusion, I disagree with the view that people should keep their income rather than pay tax because taxation ensure equility in many countries and it is the main means governments fund public services and infrastructures. Efforts geared towards promoting these merits should be encouraged.