TPO21 – Independent: A/D? For success in a future job, the ability to relate well to people is more important than studying hard in school.

As a part of globalisation, English has become the most widely spoken language around the world. Although the drawbacks do exist, the benefits are countless. Personally, I believe that the benefits of this trend have more significance than its demerits and this will continue in the coming years. To begin with, one of the main advantages of having one global language is that it will reduce the gap between the countries as there is no communication barrier. As a result, international trades such as the importing and exporting of goods will increase and benefit the growth of economies around the globe. Furthermore, English helps people to travel around the world without experiencing any difficulties. Many tourists find it hard to communicate to the native people for their simple needs such as asking directions, ordering food and so forth. These issues will be solved if there is only one expression. Finally, English provides a solid foundation for people seeking quality education in developed countries. It is the only medium of teaching instruction in the world’s top universities; an active command of the language secures an admission to a university. I do appreciate that some people think differently, saying that due to the increasing use of the English language, many local languages are getting less priority and thus impacting the cultural identity of many nations. Then, there would be no cultural diversity. One of the main reasons that attract tourists to other countries is that their cultural differences. If every country has the same culture, there is no meaning in visiting other places. However, in my opinion, this problem can be solved to a great extent by ensuring proper local words emphasis and training. In conclusion, in spite of negative sides, having a single global language brings many benefits such as the growth of international business and economy. In my opinion, the advantages of this trend far outweigh its disadvantages.