TPO18 Students are more influenced by their teachers than by their friends.

Publicity plays a vital role in building a reputation of the company or a product. As we are aware advertisement has a direct implication on a consumer choice. However, it is argued that some practices of advertising used, can be unacceptable and immoral. In my essay I will share my views on the same. On one hand, we see a huge amount of money spend on publicity. The marketing of products is a gimmick, as it encourages people to buy products they may not need or cannot afford. Children and young people in particular are influenced by adverts showing the latest toys, clothing or music and this can put enormous pressure on the parents to buy these products. Furthermore, sometimes in order to gain more publicity the products portray a wrong image. For example, some sports stars promote high content of sugar drinks which can be detrimental for health. In addition, the advertising of tobacco products and alcohol has long been a controversial issue, but cigarette adverts have only recently been banned in many countries. It is quite possible that alcohol adverts encourage excessive consumption and underage drinking, yet restrictions have not been placed on this type of advertising in the same way as smoking. This kind of advertising has an adverse effect on a persons health. In conclusion, It is certainly true, that people are constantly being encouraged to buy products or services that might be too expensive, unnecessary or even unhealthy. However, aspects of advertising do appear to be morally wrong and are not acceptable in today's society.