TPO17 – Q1: Talk about a special opportunity that was given to you. Explain why the opportunity is important.

While it is quite risky sometimes to get robbed on the streets, we should not neglect the fact that houses aren’t an exception to this. One of the most important steps to ensure one’s own security on the streets is to avoid dark, narrow and less frequented walkways. As for homes, the best safety measure is to lock all doors, days and nights. Firstly, we will discuss the safety on the streets and how to avoid being robbed. The risk of robbery is higher for walkers. The latter can be targeted during night time, making it easier to act without being noticed. Same applies for people while driving, but with a lesser magnitude. In this instance, robbery may happen while waiting on the red lights, for example. The best prevention is to lock down the car from the inside, so as to stop any attempt of opening the car doors, by force. Secondly, staying at home cannot prevent from robberies, unless precautions are taken to ensure full safety. It is crucial to install proper locks on doors and windows, as well as any opening that attract thieves, disregarding which time of the day it is. Robbery can happen at any moment. Moreover, keeping some rooms lit may keep the bad people away, especially when nobody is home. Music may be an option as well, it sends a sign that there is someone home. In conclusion, there are many steps to be taken to ensure one’s own security is preserved. Being it on the streets or inside houses, one should be vigilant and careful to avoid unpleasant situations such as robbery. The best way is to always choose the more frequented streets, lock the car’s doors, and make sure the house is safely closed.