TPO15-Q1: People make friends in many different ways. What do you think is a good way to make friends?

In recent years, many people have argued that school should concentrate more on teaching regional history instead of world history. Although I agree with this point of view, there could be a case for saying that learning world historical events is also important for children. First of all, amongst there are several advantages associated with learning local past, the most significant of which is to understand thoroughly the origin and meaning of traditional events, customs and so on of their motherland. Therefore, the youngsters could maintain the valuable tradition for the next generation. Furthermore, local history is a storehouse of information about how the ancestors had lived, had thought and had fought to protect their land. For example, by listening about the rebellion of Trưng Sisters against the ruling yoke of Qin dynasty to liberate Vietnam, Vietnamese children could understand the value of freedom and respect the sacrifice of their ancestors. Accordingly, teaching local history is synonymous with educating about patriotism. However, we should not underestimate the importance of world history. In order to understand more thoroughly and more deeply the regional past, it is necessary to relate the local historical events with corresponding world conditions. For instance, when studying about the Communist Party, which ruled Vietnam beginning in 1945, it is indispensable to acknowledge that the October revolution in Russia helped Nguyen Ai Quoc, later founder of the Vietnamese Communist Party, find the way to liberate Vietnam through Marxism ideology. Furthermore, as the world has become globalized, knowing the history of other countries is beneficial. People are prone to approach and support people who express respectfulness of the local culture and history. Consequently, it provides more opportunities for children to work and make friends with foreigners. In conclusion, it is my belief that although local history is more necessary, world history has its important role. I am convinced that the study of local history should parallel with world history so the children could apprehend history more effectively.