tpo11. task3Housing Renovations PlannedOver the last ten years, the number of Central College students living on campus in dormitories has decreased by twenty percent. In an effort to counteract the trend, the college has announced a plan to renovate its

People have different views about the effectiveness of homework in children’s educational developments. While the assignments given to kids can sometimes be useful in improving their performance at school, I tend to believe that the ability to spend time exploring other activities outside of school is more important. On the one hand, a specific amount of homework is definitely an essential part in the education of children. At school, children are taught a wide range of theories and concepts and the setting of homework is a perfect opportunity for students to review materials that are covered in the classroom. School-aged children can develop and progress entirely at their own pace while completing the school work they take home. For example, math definitely encourages young pupils to improve problem solving ability which can be an advantage later in the adult life. Having such vital skills on school-leavers’ CV can definitely impress many university admission officers or business employers. It can be therefore argued that homework should be encouraged in order to enhance students’ performance in school as well as prepare them for adult life. On the other hand, it is perhaps even more important for a child to take a break from his education. Extra assignments given to children, particularly younger school going children, can lead to extremely high levels of stress. For instance, repeated exposure to the abundance of schooling exercises and assignments, students may feel stressed and anxious, and they might fail to complete the assignments on time. Children also need time to spend with their family, catch up with friends and attend extracurricular activities so they can refresh their minds and bodies. Sadly, homework eats up the time children have to do all these, and makes it difficult for them to strike a balance between school and play. Personally, I would agree that children should be given more leisure time to enjoy life after school. In conclusion, I can understand why some people might want to encourage extra assignments for pupils, but it seems to me that it is better to spend some time exploring other things outside of the classroom.