Integrated quest 5: describe the woman's problem and the two suggestions that her advisor makes about how to handle it. What do you think the woman should do, and why?

It is a fact that people in contemporary society are inclined to purchase a wide range of household goods such as television and refrigerator than in the past. In my opinion, this tendency has both benefits and drawbacks. There are two fundamental advantages of spending a lot of money on these appliances. First, thanks to technological advancements, cutting-edge household equipment is designed to improve people’s quality of life both entertainment and performance. For example, we take advantage of washing machines to speed up time or watch fascinating television channels to help us chill out after hectic working hours. Second, if people prioritize expenditure on household goods, manufactures of these appliances would generate more profits, hence expanding their business. By doing this, the government could receive more taxes to foster the economy, and unemployment would be partly addressed because of more job vacancies from these companies. Despite the benefits mentioned above, I believe that this tendency can bring disadvantages to the environment and people’s mental health. Consuming a lot of household things leads to an increase in the number of broken and outdated appliances that could be end up in landfill sites and subsequently become raw wastes. If these wastes are not properly treated, they might cause severe contamination to the soil and water. Additionally, residents especially housewives are swayed by household advertisements and buy goods impulsively. It is inevitable that these activities could cause them to be burdened with hundreds of dollars in credit card debt, leading to psychological problems such as depression and strain. In conclusion, I argue that the trend for people to buy more appliances like washing machine and rice cooker could be both beneficial and disadvantageous.