TPO11_ Some people say that the Internet provides people with a lot of valuable information. Others think access to much information creates problems. Which view do you agree with? Use specific reasons

The advent of the internet has changed our lives from different perspectives. We can have access to every information we are seeking in a fraction of a second. The impacts that this fact can have are disputed. I subscribe to the view that the overall impact of getting information from the internet is positive. First of all, having access to the Internet, researchers can find the information they are looking for much easier and faster, and as a result, they can save their times to concentrate on innovative parts of research. A few decade ago, researchers needed to spend too much time in order to go to the library and look for the information they needed in hundreds of books, and even if they could find the information after several hours of searching the library books, it could have been dated. Another aspect of research that has perfectly developed is having access to data from different experiments all over the world. For example, the information from particle physics experiments conducted in large particle colliders is available to researcher all over the world. In addition to research materials, another merit of the internet is that people can rate different materials, criticize them, and provide the potential audience with extra information. Take a movie as an example; numerous people have ranked each movie on IMDB website. There are also many criticisms about each movie from artistic and general points of view. There is also a parent guide on IMDB whereby parents can decide whether let their children watch a specific movie ar not. On the other hand, not all the information provided on the Internet is credible. An internet user is prone to be a victim of the political or religious parties who use the internet in order to advertise their benefits. Moreover, rumors can spread at an astounding pace through the internet. So, the internet user should be aware of these destructive materials and try to avoid them. To sum up, even though I admit that the information provided on the net can be destructive by times, I hold the view that the benefits of the internet information outweigh its disadvantages.