Independent TOEFL essay - TPO 8: Agree or disagree? Television advertising directed towards young children (aged two to five) should not be allowed

The use of technological devices play an increasingly significant role in education. While many consider this to be an advantageous development, others believe it is more disadvantageous. I believe the use of technology in schooling is incredibly beneficial. This essay will discuss both points of view, followed by a reasoned conclusion. On the one hand, there are many benefits of the widespread use of IT such as Ipad's in the classroom. Firstly, students are able to store information on their devices without the need for notebooks or stationary. This set up is cheaper for the students family as they do not need to spend a sum of money on school supplies. A good example of this is a study conducted by WHSmith, a stationary shop in the UK, revealed that 30% of students income per month goes towards stationary. Another reason why it is a positive trend is with the advent of the internet, information is made accessible and readily available with a click of a button. For example, websites like www. Google. com greatly assist in the accessibility of knowledge. On the other hand, the positives of computer usage in schools do not come without drawbacks. Although laptops provide a means of indulgence in knowledge, they also provide a means of over-indulgence in useless applications like Facebook and video games. This can lead to these devices being a distraction in auditoriums. For instance, in 2019, The Internet Society, found that for every 30 minutes spent being productive on the internet, 20 minutes were wasted on social media. Moreover, unfortunately, computers can either be stolen or damaged. Instantly losing important information, a high risk to take for students in master program’s or finalists. This was examplified earlier this month when my 250 word essay for my IELTS April practice exam was deleted off of my phone. In conclusion technology has taken the educational sector by storm, curbing the way for free accessible information and making studies easier for students. Despite this, they can be a source of distractions and can be delted. However, as long as students responsibly use technology for the right reasons and ensure they take care of them, the positives effects outweigh the negatives.