TPO 55: When classmates or colleagues communicate about a project in person instead of by e-mail, they will produce better work for the project. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

As you know, Technology is growing at a fast pace and influencing our daily life. The ways of communication between the members of specific social groups are dramatically influenced as well. For instance, in academic groups colleagues and professors widely use e-mail to communicate with each other and follow up on their projects. in this respect, some student believes that when colleagues communicate about a project in person instead of by e-mail, they will produce better work for the project. I strongly agree with this opinion and in what follows I will elaborate on my viewpoint. First of all, one should take into account the fact that for every individual speaking is a much easier task than writing and people can convey their purpose more clearly when they talk to each other. Working on a project as a team is not a simple task and every step should be taken wisely. During a project, lots of questions may arise for team members. In this case, communicating via e-mail is not an appropriate approach since students tend to reply to e-mail as concise as possible. Usually, e-mail replies are not comprehensive and do not cover all of the necessary details. More importantly, there is always a probability that students misunderstand some points in an e-mail. Hence, it is more beneficial for students to arrange weekly meetings in order to follow up on projects. The second reason coming to mind is that communicating through e-mail has some limitations. For example, in some situations, students have to share their programs and code in order to find possible semantic errors but if the program is massive it can' t be delivered by e-mail. Also, there is always a probability that an email would not deliver to the receptionist and sometimes it is directly delivered to the spam box. My personal experience is compelling evidence of what I mean. Last year when I was working on my project I sent an important e-mail to my advisor. It was related to one of the outputs of my simulation. My advisor did not reply to my e-mail and when I asked her about it we realize that it was wrongly identified as spam and she did not see it. In short, all of the aforementioned reasons lead us to draw the conclusion that the best mean of communicating with other colleagues and classmates about a project is talking about it in person by organizing a meeting. It is mainly due to the fact that e-mails are concise and do not contain details. Also, there is always the possibility that e-mail would not be delivered to the receptionist