TPO 52 - Question 2The woman expresses her opinion of the idea expressed in the newspaper. State her opinion and explain the reasons she gives for holding that opinion.

Athlete, people who compete in sports, earn more than people in significant occupations. Is this wrong or right? . Many say it is wrong, others say otherwise. Even though sports men and women should not be paid higher than other professionals in their field since they require their services to perform effectively, they are most times rewarded from the proceeds of bets placed on them. Thereby, I am of the opinion that it is justified. Of a truth, we need one another to survive and therefore, there should be no reason why one should earn more than the other. Every professional partners with other professionals to be successful, athletes inclusive. To illustrate, a footballer acquires the services of a medical practitioner, that is, in all fields of medicine, to see that he or she is in sound health; and also a legal practitioner, a financial adviser to mention a few, all work closely with the player to ensure a blooming career. Hence, none should be under paid. Notwithstanding, the fact that sports professionals earn more should not be a problem to anyone, because in most cases, they are paid with the money gotten from bets on them. For instance, in China the winner of the Federal Martial Arts Tournament makes away with the money realised from bets and sponsors, no matter how much. They do this to encourage their young men that hard work pays. How then will you say that this is not justified? . Additionally, these athlete represent their countries well and should be immensely appreciated. In conclusion, many believe there is a form of injustice when sports professionals earn more than other important professionals, arguing that they all work hand in hand to promote each other. Albeit, I believe it is justified seeing that they are often paid from bets placed on them.