TPO 06 - Question 3The woman expresses her opinion about the proposal that her friend Tim made in his letter to the newspaper. State her opinion about his proposal and explain the reasons she gives for her opinion.

It has been found that the majority of prisoners are indulging themselves in the criminal activities after serving the punishments. This phenomenon is observed due to the fact that they are unable to secure a job upon their release. So that providing employment opportunities to them would change this occurrence. The most compelling reasons for the re-involvement in the crimes is that they find it hard to get a job upon release. Most of the employers have been verifying there applicant’s profile including police records. For example, as per the law, if one person is applying for a vacancy in the UK, they have to submit a police clearance certificate along with the application. Therefore, those who have served prison for the offence they did found it difficult to get shortlisted for the job. As a result, these ex-criminals remain unemployed and commit further crimes to feed themselves and their family. To tackle this problem, the governments should provide employment opportunities to these people. This can be achieved by following simple ways. Firstly, they should be taught some skills such as, plumbing and computing during their time in prison which can help them to start their own business. Secondly, the government should provide a financial aid to establish their start-ups and to make them self-employed. These strategies, for instance, have been successfully implemented in the USA since 2000. In conclusion, the person who has served prison punishment due to their offence find it difficult to secure a job upon release and to survive in this unemployed situation they often involve in to the criminal activities again. Thus, the governments should intervene their condition and provide them with the skills and support to start their own business.