Many governments think that the econimic progress is their most important goal. Some people, however think that other types of progress are equally important for a country.

Having a pet is every child's dream. Children usually fulfil their dream much later in life, when they are capable of supporting themselves and ready to start a family of their own. This is when the question "Are pets are dangerous for children or not? " arises. There is a portion of the population that believes, animals may harm children while others are of the opinion that there several benefits to children having pets. In this essay, I will discuss both these views and justify why I believe that it is good for children to have pets growing up. Parents are of the mindset that animals like cats and dogs may get possessive or jealous and harm an infant. This was evident in a case recently reported in the papers about a pit-bull biting a three month old baby in a home in India. Another reason pets are considered to be unhealthy is due to the fact that the hair shed may cause allergies or harmful respiratory diseases in children. However, these problems could be solved by training pets as well as frequent cleaning of homes. On the other hand, several people have identified the advantages of kids having pets at home. Firstly, pets help develop a sense of responsibility among children. These children grow up to be good teachers, managers and even parents. Secondly, interacting with animals creates a sense of empathy within the child thus enabling them to be good humans who keep the requirements of others in mind before performing an action. Lastly, pets make kids feel loved and hence bring up their self esteem. There are a myriad of such instances reported on the internet. For example, one of how a dog help build the confidence of an adolescent bullied for having Down’s Syndrome and another of a dog alerting owners of smoke in the house thus saving them and their child. In conclusion, I believe that children should have the experience of growing up with a pet. Parents must keep in mind that several issues associated with animals can be done away with training or by having docile pets like fish that are also relatively easier to take care of.