TPO 50 - All university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It goes without saying that in this complicated and progressive era in which we live, being equipped with all assortments of knowledge and information is inevitable, and historical science is not an exception. In this regard, while many decision makers claim that it should be a must for students to have history courses in university regardless of their field of study, others stand on the other side, stating that any compulsory courses are ineffective and waste time. As far as I am concerned, I believe that students should have the freedom to take history courses. The reasons to substantiate my viewpoints are elaborated upon hereunder. First, university students should focus on the specific courses related to their field of study in order to be more prosperous individuals in the future. While knowing a diverse area of knowledge is an advantage for every student, it takes lots of time to study and learn them. Consequently, the cost of learning unrelated courses is spending less time on related ones, which leads to poor performance in the exams of main courses. Since the companies tend to recruit well-educated employees with high university grades in related fields -as an indicator of their competencies, the chance of those students who spent time studying compulsory courses will be lessened to get hired in the firms. A personal example can drive my notion home. Five years ago, when I was a master student in the engineering school at Tehran University, the curriculum designers devised a compulsory course for all students, which was a mixture of sociology and psychology, and was entirely unrelated to the engineering field. Since I had no idea about the sociology and the course was full of human science terminology, I spent lots of time learning new concepts, and missed time to study my engineering courses. Although I managed to get a high-grade on that course, my GPA was low, and as a result, after graduation, I had many troubles convincing companies that I am a proper person for their vacancies. Second, any obligatory decision is ineffective and will be neglected. While students have the freedom to choose their desired courses at the university, they are more involved in the class activities and try their best to accomplish the assignments. It is crystal clear that people tend to follow what they like and prevent facing what they are not inclined. Hence, making university students take unrelated courses like history will make them unsatisfied, and led to a reduction in the quality of class participation and activities. To make it clear, when I was a university student, I had to take a history course according to the mandatory rules of the university. Since I had never been convinced that it was a useful course for my field of study, I did not go to the class regularly, and I neglected all the lectures of the professor feeling that he was wasting my precious time. As a result, I did not get involved in class activities and did not learn even a single word. Thus, yet I feel as I have wasted all my time in that class and I cannot remember anything the lessons taught. In sum, I believe that university students should take their course freely in order to focus on their desired fields, and spend their time effectively for those topics they want.