TPO-47 - Independent Writing Task It is important to know about events happening around the world, even if it is unlikely that they will affect your daily life.

There is no doubt that children over the past few years have enjoyed less reading a book, not only at school but also in their leisure time. This essay explains the causes of the decrease in reading books and what solutions can be done in order to tackle the issue. First of all, since the improvements in technology, there is a wide range of entertainments which especially attract young people to spend on their time than just holding a book in front of them. Indeed, by reading words after words for long hours can be monotonous and without any joy. As a result, young people tend to use an electronic device which they find it more interesting and exciting. For example, the countless Apps you can choose from for any games, give more pleasure as one can play with friends at the same time or chatting with them via Skype. Moreover, since children are at the age where each one wants to be the coolest person at school and not being outdated, they mostly would follow the trends nowadays in the society rather than owning a book and sitting alone at home. As the causes of the decline in reading books are explained above, there are some solutions to overcome this problem. The main necessary step to change is that parents need to limit the time spent on electronic devices such as games on the IPhone. In fact, a lot of young people have a screen in front of them for many hours which can lead to other effects. Another way to encourage the children to read a book than play a game is to reward them with small snacks. This may motivate them to open a book and would be enjoyed by reading it. To sum up, it is not surprising that children are not reading as much as before, considering recent developments in technology as well as in educational systems around the world. It is, however, highly preventable, as long as we adjust children’s environment and continue with to promote reading for pleasure with honesty and enthusiasm.