TPO 32 - Question 4 Choice-Supportive Bias People often make decisions by considering the advantages and disadvantages of each option. However, after a person selects an option, there is a tendency for that person to exhibit the choice- supportive bias. A

Some students prefer computer games over real sports in the modern era, and this situation is having grave consequences on the present society. There are multiple reasons for this scenario and in the following essay, I would like to discuss its causes and remedies to combat them. To begin with, advancement in technology is the major culprit for this scenario. It has become a lot easier for young adolescents get their hands on devices like PlayStations, gaming consoles, virtual reality, multiplayer games etc. Hence, they prefer these devices over real outdoor or indoor sports. With the latest graphics and gaming experience, young students are showing more interest in playing a game in a PC or a smartphone rather than going outside into the sun and sweat to play. To illustrate, according to a recent survey conducted in our university, the number of students playing an online game called PUBG(Player Unknown Battlegrounds) was more than three times the total number of students participating in all available real-time sports in our college. This demonstrates the impact of e-gaming on students. Secondly, parents are also contributing to the rise of students opting for PC gaming over real-time games. It has become very convenient for a parent to hand over mobile to a kid rather than taking him/her outside, to keep them busy for a long time. This habit is having serious effects on children's health. Playing for long hours sitting in front of a computer or on a mobile phone without any physical activity is making a lot of young students obese. For example, recent statistics are showing the number of overweight students in the age group of 8-15 years have nearly quadrupled in the past decade in developed nations. This enunciates the monstrosity of the situation we are in. Various things can be done to combat the issue such as restricting the usage of electronic devices by young individuals, educating the students about the harmful effects of e-gaming on their health, enlightening them with the benefits of outdoor or indoor real-time sports on their health, prompting parents to join their kids in outdoor sports at a young age to inculcate the spirit of it and generate interest for the game. To conclude, in my opinion, playing games on a computer for long hours is harmful to young students and both parents and the universities or schools should work together in tackling the problem to create a healthy future generation.