TPO 30 - Question 1A friend of yours is looking for a new place to live and has asked for your advice. What do you think is the most important characteristic of a good neighborhood? .

There is an ongoing debate over the methods for improving public health and lifestyle. While some people believe that an increase in the sports facilities is the most effective approach, in my perspective, a nutritive diet is more essential for improving the health of people. To begin with, those who favour increasing sports facilities is necessary for the improvement of public health believe that a workout through sports improves physical and psychological health. This is because physical activities burn the calories from the body which leads to excessive weight loss and fit body. Also, they regulate the blood circulation, which energies the brain and improves its functionality. For instance, an annual survey of the 'Employee Health Organisation' states that employees who are engaged in regular sports are more productive in comparison to others. However, owing to a sedentary lifestyle, people hardly get time to avail of sports facilities, thus this approach cannot be considered as the best one. On the other hand, many people hold a view that gaming facilities alone cannot ensure the fitness of the people, there are many other approaches that should be considered. Of all the ways, the most crucial is the availability of healthy and nutritive diet for the people. The reason for this is the functionalities of the human mind and body are monitored by the quality of food intake. Healthy food provides energy and zeal to perform physical and mental work. Therefore, the availability of green vegetables, fruits and food rich in minerals and vitamins is quintessential for the well-being of people. A midday meal in which a free nutritive meal is provided by the government of India to the school students in order to improve their nutritious status serves the best example of this approach. In conclusion, although sports facilities enhance public health to some extent, in my opinion, other measures such as the availability of healthy food are much more effective.