Some people think that the government should increase spending on defense, but spend less on social benefits.

In this contemporary world, despite the geographical boundaries, nations have become identical, especially in goods and services industry. In my opinion, this trend has brought up many negative impacts, among which lose of cultural identity and traditional businesses are detrimental. Many countries are experiencing the lose of traditional, cultural values and identities due to free trade agreements. Most western dress codes, for instance, are convenient and easy to wear, as well as low cost compared to traditional costumes. So, people are increasingly changing over to more affordable clothes, as of which this trend can lead to an extinction of some traditional values of the society. Furthermore, traditional and religious festivals those valued for a long time are gradually replaced by the western celebrations, such as Halloween and Valentines Day, because of cultural identities can be further disregard. In addition, a large proportion of locally owned traditional businesses are wiped-off by billion-dollar multinational companies. In fact, free trade agreements between the nations have given a free-pass to multinational companies to begin their investments; sooner or later, traditional businesses are shutdown due to the intolerable competitiveness. On the other hand, some may argue that open economy has expanded the job market, especially in underdeveloped and developing nations that can positively impact on individuals and society; however, I believe that the negative effects on the traditional businesses is a detrimental than providing few extra jobs. In conclusion, I strongly believe that increase availability of goods and services, irrespective of geographical barriers, has developed significant adverse effects on the local traditions and businesses, provided that it is advisable to establish preventive measures to protect the local traditional values and businesses, before accepting the free trade agreement treaties.