TPO 29/1: Which of following job or career do you think would be rewarding: University professorEnvironmental scientistNewspaper journalist

Everyday waste is on the rise in a good number of nations. This could be as a result of increased packaging of consumer goods, but enforcing recycling of non-biodegradable products could be adopted to curb this problem. The assembling of goods in packs is on the rise. Manufacturers now package products that were not originally packed before. This can be seen in the case of everyday consumables such as sachet water. In Nigeria, drinking water was traditionally sold in Jerry cans or at most plastic bottles, and the majority of households use water filter tanks as their reservoir. Nowadays, the advent of this non-biodegradable and non-reusable packs form a major part of everyday garbage in Nigeria. One of the ways to curtail this problem is that the government should enact policies on recycling of waste. This policy or law will enforce the manufacturers to set up outlets for collection of their product packs for appropriate management. For instance, in Germany, producers contract their distributors and retailers to not only collect empty bottles and plastic cans from customers, but also offer incentives upon return of these items. This strategy has helped to minimize the quantity of daily rubbish generated in the country. In conclusion, increased packaging of goods is implicated as a major contributor of the high amount of day to day waste. However, enforcement of government policy on recycling of these packs is a strategy that can be adopted to ameliorate this problem.