TPO 21 - Question 3Daily E-mail with campus activitiesThe university will now send all students a daily email containing information about campus events and activities. Rather than get information about campus events once a week in the campus newspaper, s

People's value is now measured by their position and their financial strength unlike in the past where virtues are more appreciated. I agree with this point of view because important positions in the society are reserved for the rich as well as nepotism increase in workplaces. Firstly, people with dignity were formally rewarded for this behaviour with important positions in the society to overlook some certain affairs of the state that requires such values. However, people can now buy such positions with their money through fake charities to gain the attention of the government and the people. for example, many rich people in my village engage in temporary giveaway just to get a chieftancy position, knowing fully well that is the only the measuring yardstick required nowadays. Thus, rich people are rewarded with important positions inconsiderate of their characters but based on their money. Furthermore, nepotism is now a trend in the workplace. To clarify, many interviewers are simply interviewed for the sake of formality by employers whereas they already have their candidates who are mostly the children of the elites. For instance, most companies would rather employ candidates that of wealthy background that can help the company with their parent connections to get contracts. Consequently, merit is ignored and this bad trend is encouraged even in the workplace. To conclude, materialism has taken over good moral compass such as kindness, dignity and honesty which has eaten deep into our society. I recommend that people should promote virtues above wealth and status in order to discourage this bad trend that can pressure people to commit crime in order to belong.