TPO 14 - Question 1People enjoy reading many different types of books such as mystery, biography, romance, etc. Of all the different types of books that there are, what type do you most enjoy? Explain why.

People are becoming more obese in both developed and developing nations. It can be argued that increasing the cost of unhealthy food could help reduce its consumption and curb the health crisis that arises from it. This essay will argue that the problem of obesity can not be solved only by increasing prices of fatty foods. To begin with, people are choosing to eat take out because it is convenient, despite being aware that it is unhealthy. Ordering a meal from fast-food chains such as Taco Bell and McDonald's is extremely convenient. Because many people have multiple jobs and busy scheduled, they choose to purchase it from these restaurants. Therefore, increasing prices at these stores will not convince the public to reduce its consumption. Recent experiments in New York city had shown people continued to buy sodas, even after city government imposed a 10% tax on it. On the other hand, where previously people may only have $50 in disposable income, nowadays, they have $2000. Except poor people who tend to be price sensitive, the majority of middle and upper income group will continue to buy food from the frozen aisle even it becomes expensive. Since price does not play a major role in deciding whether someone decides to opt for unhealthy options or not, people continue to consume it. A study from the University of California highlight that salary of people are increasing by 5% year-over-year accounting for inflation. In conclusion, in modern days, unhealthy food has created a public health crisis and it cannot be solved alone by taxing it. A well rounded approach around public education and making healthier options more accessible could help reduce the effect of unhealthy food.