TPO 11The woman expresses her opinion about the college’s plan. State her opinion and explain the reasons she gives for holding that opinion.

Museums and Art Galleries are the depiction of tradition, culture and numerous historical events of a country. Such places are the symbol of ancient civilization and are very much fascinating to the interest of the people. In my opinion, Museums and Art Galleries should be open and free to the public because charging entry fees has certain drawbacks. People visiting Art Galleries and Museums are mostly obsessed with the artistic work and historical events. Therefore, such places have to be made appealing for the visitors. For this purpose, the management invests a substantial amount on interior design and decoration. For instance, European countries make a separate budget for such places just to make it attractive for the people. Knowing the fact that considerable amount of money is required for the operation and maintenance of museums and art galleries, entry fee is charged by the general public. However, charging fees is a major pitfall because we cannot ignore the fact that such places are mostly visited by school children and elderly people. Museums and Art Galleries are imperative for the children to visit because it increases their knowledge and help them to think in wider perspective. The entry fee, however, is resisting many schools to organize such informative trips for their students. I believe that charging an entry fee is detrimental to the interest of the general public, specifically children, old people and lower middle class families who cannot afford to pay fees. Therefore, in my opinion, the government should bear the operational cost such places and make the entry free of cost to the public.