TPO 11 – task 2: Some people say that the internet provides people with a lot of valuable information. Others think that access to much information creates problems.

In the contemporary world, teaching methodologies are always evolving to maximise its efficacy. While some people believe in an exclusive net based approach towards reading, others disagree; firmly advocating printed materials for successful learning. In my opinion, both of them ought to be used interchangeably for an ideal outcome. On the one hand, there is a lot of positivity involved with online learning. Firstly, with just one click, children can access plethora of updated electronic books and academic information from multiple free websites. For instance, Wikipedia and Google are two of the highly visited websites by students, for further academic reading. Secondly, online materials can easily be programmed to cater to each child’s mental capabilities. Furthermore, majority of the e-books have an integrated dictionary app, eliminating the need to search for meanings separately; thus, making reading experience a more enjoyable process. Finally, as there isn’t a need for natural wood resources, online approach is more environment - friendly. On the other hand, many people prefer the more historic and traditional approach of reading printed materials such as books and newspapers. They argue that it is more effective in terms of readability. To exemplify, in an independent online survey, majority of students favoured physically published books over e-books, mainly due to easier text comprehension. Additionally, reading printed materials avoids the negative health side effects associated with using electronic gadgets, in particular eyestrain and neck fatigue. To further illustrate, students can’t concentrate for a long period of time on tablets or PC, due to eye fatigue. Thus, in the long run, continuous online reading can be detrimental to the pupils’ eyes. In conclusion, I believe instead of favouring one methodology over another, both online and net-based approaches should be incorporated together. As a blend of two, can result in a more effective learning experience for the child.