Some people are of the view that students should keep a gap of one year without study between school and university. While others think it affects learning.

Nowadays, many young people take a year off for travel or job before commencing with their tertiary education. Some section of the society is in favour of this phenomenon whereas others believe it as a disruptive process. This essay will elucidate both views. I strenuously reckon that youngsters should continue with their study which would not only benefit them in the long run but also help them to secure good jobs in the future. On the one hand, those who favour taking break immediately after high school, believe that students gain valuable experiences in life when they travel and explore the world. That is to say, whenever the youths face any kind of problems they learn to deal with it. This not only gives them the experience to deal with tough situations later in life but also gives them confidence. For instance, a recent survey conducted by the Times group states that nearly 45 per cent of the students prefer to take a break and gain work experience before they start with their graduation. Additionally, a year break will give the student a chance to indulge in his or her desired activities. Understandably, the schedule in some high schools consumes most of the students time, which could have been spent on relaxation or hobbies. On the other side of the argument, many students returning from a break in academic study find it very difficult to adjust to university life, give up their ideas of higher education altogether, or waste their gap year in worthless activities. They also might get attracted to the lavish lifestyles and prefer to adopt obnoxious habits. For example, almost 20 per cent of university students in the United States of America find it hard to clear their degrees due to the lack of concentration. Secondly, it is observed that many of these youngsters when becoming financially independent do not prefer to join the university back. Therefore, this greediness among them makes them work further in life which ultimately becomes an obstacle in their career. To conclude, albeit year gap can be considered as an important aspect for the students, I firmly opine that the drawbacks such as inclination towards bad habits and even discontinuation of studying should also be kept in mind.