TPO 11 - Question 1 Talk about an interesting book you have read. Explain why you thought the book was interesting. Give specific details and examples to explain your answer.

The verdicts of authorities are often debatable. Although some people argue that lawmakers should be choosing the lifestyle of citizens, others lay stress on personal decision making. Over the last few decades, owing to technology, lifestyles of people have changed quite dramatically. To begin with, four-wheelers, which once considered to be a luxury are lying as either unsold or their production has come to a halt. For instance, every family today has atleast two or more cars, having high brand value, in which they prefer to travel alone rather than commuting by public transport. Owing to these changing trends, pollution levels have been on a steady rise, thereby effecting the lives of masses severely. Further, some spending of government gets diverted towards maintaining the environment which could have been easily allocated to necessary issues like health care and social security. On the other hand, selecting lifestyle by a centralized authority ensures a sense of uniformity and togetherness. It leads to building up of better relations among citizens. To illustrate, European government has made mandatory for all offices to work from eight in the morning till four in the evening. This way of living gives an individual adequate time at the office and home, promoting both personal and professional lives. In addition, they have strictly prohibited smoking in public places and they regularly hike prices of cigars, which discourages people to consume them and improve their overall health. In conclusion, it is quite clear that allowing government to choose a lifestyle of their countrymen can bring fruitful results for both citizens and nations.