TPO 01 - Independent - At universities and colleges, sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support. Use specific reasons and ex

There has been always much debate over whether sports and social activities are as important as classes or not. Although I do not accept the term equal, I agree that these kinds of activities should receive suffice financial support because they will result in healthy individuals, effective working hours, and increased life expectancy and life quality. To start with, these activities keep students in healthy condition. Health is always an important concern and challenge to society and government. There are two approaches to have a healthy society. The first one is to keep society in healthy condition, and the second one is to cure unhealthy individuals. There is no doubt that the second approach is expensive, and it can become uncontrollable. As the first approach is cheaper and more efficient, society should practice it, and universities and colleges are the best places to start. Secondly, students with healthy body and mind are able to use their abilities more effectively. I can compare my first year and my second year at university to demonstrate this reason. I took a swimming course in my first year; I was energized and happy with my other courses during that year, but I feel sleepy and bored during next year. Finally, these activities will increase life expectancy. As students connect together socially, they will be happier with their life. This happiness increases life expectancy. People with higher life expectancy will be more positive and more available to their society, and this will increase life quality. In conclusion, I stated that equal term is not a suitable word, but these sports and social activities are important, so they should receive effective financial support. Healthy individuals, effective working hours, and increased life expectancy and life quality were the mentioned reasons.