Tourism is one of the fastest growing industries and contributes a great deal to economies around the world. However, the damage tourism can cause to local cultures and the environment is often ignored.

These days, many of us believe that tourism can be regarded as one of the most contributive aspects for economic growth of the country. However, some of us still find some drawbacks of tourism because it can dilute our indigenous traditions and make people do not care about their environment. I agree with the notion that tourism can harm the local culture and its environment. In this essay, I will support my opinion with some reasons. To begin with, we should open our eyes to the fact that tourism has lead to the great transformation of economic growth in our country. Many people around the world try to visit our country in order to know our cultures and enjoy the beautiful views of our country. This fact shows a number of advantages to our economic growth such as the growth of industrial aspects. However, this development can harm our indigenous cultures and environment. Nowadays, the growth of tourism transformed our life to the different style of life. Compare to the past time, these days, a majority of the people have been influenced by the western culture. In the past time, the youth and elderly respected each other and still preserved the value of culture, and morality. Today, westernisation of culture happened and tried to interfere our lifestyle. The high values of culture and morality almost erased from the dictionary of society. People tend to forget their indigenous cultures and traditions, moreover, their offspring following the same. They no longer care about the upkeep of their cultures inheritance and trapped in the western cultures which identical with the nightclub, drinks, and party. Take Bangladesh as an example, in the past time, Bangladesh was very well-known with its traditional cultures. Presently, this country is changing and no longer known for their cultures. To sum up, I think that although tourism can drive to a better economic growth but still, we should not lose our sight that tourism also can harm our local cultures and environment.