Please write in support of the following proposition: “Tourism is becoming increasingly important as a source of revenue to many countries but its disadvantages should not be overlooked. ” You should write for an educated, non-specialist audience. using your own ideas, knowledge and experience. You should support your arguments with examples and relevant evidence.

The travel industry is getting progressively significant as a wellspring of income to numerous nations. Although tourism has lots of advantages, there are as many drawbacks. One evident benefit of tourism is economic growth, especially in developing countries. In other words, hotels, restaurants, bars, and entertainment facilities all see an immediate influx, giving more income to the country. The rise in demand for the leisure industry also results in them seeking more employees, giving more opportunities to the locals. Another benefit would be that visiting other countries could reduce racism in people’s mind, and develop a deeper understanding of other cultures. By spending time discovering different religions, they will improve their tolerance, which is important in our society. On the other hand, there are obvious disadvantages to travel. Firstly, it can increase the crime rate of a country. Take the city of Paris as an example. Pickpockets always target visitors of the French capital because not only they are seen as easy prey, as they are in unfamiliar territory, but also they carry visible items of wealth. As a result, the city can be seen as less attractive for the public to frequently visit. Secondly, it has bad effects on the environment. A good illustration of this is pollution. When a lot of people visit, they invariably burden the transportation system and contribute to pollution, which impacts air quality. Long-term exposure to polluted air can have permanent effects on health such as developing diseases like asthma, bronchitis, and possibly cancer. To conclude, there are many advantages to travelling like improving tolerance and economic growth. However, the negatives involved can be too damaging to be disregarded.